« The Threat Within | Main | The Commandments of the US Constitution (long form) »

September 16, 2011

The Commandments of the US Constitution (short form)

The Constitution’s Basic Principles

The primary purpose of the constitution so to describe how we form (constitute) our government — not to delineate every moral code we choose as a society — in order to determine how governmental power is determined, allocated and shared.

The general principles underlying our American Constitution form a set of “commandments” of our American government that we share:

  1. We shall not have a tyrannical government
  2. We shall have a representative government so it can be changed and its power checked
  3. Each of us shall have rights the government can’t take away
  4. No religion or religious sect gets government preference over another
  5. None of us can be unjustly deprived of life, liberty or property
  6. Each of us can say what we believe, including especially about the government
  7. We shall have a nation governed by the rule of law, applied equally to all, including those in power
  8. All laws and government actions must conform to this US Constitution, which is the ultimate authority
  9. The nation can defend itself, fight wars and provide for a military
  10. We can tax ourselves
  11. The federal government shall be our voice in foreign relations

These do not look anything like the Judeoo-Christian 10 Commandments, about which I've remarked here.

Long form here.


TrackBack URL for this entry:

Listed below are links to weblogs that reference The Commandments of the US Constitution (short form):


The comments to this entry are closed.

September 2011

Sun Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat
        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30  

Campaigns I Support

About Progressive Viewpoints